I had always walked through life with my arms to myself
Closed off, and hugged tight
Fists set, X-ed across my chest
Always ready for a fight

I had always walked through life with my eyes wide open
Balooned pupils darting for any hidden danger
Blankly blinking at odd moments of realisation
The reflection ahead was not a stranger

I had always walked through life with my mouth sealed shut
Speaking rarely, I dared not to laugh
My teeth gritted, jaw set tight, for I knew
This was a world for only the tough

I had always walked through life with my arms to myself
Now, catching with them the good, and the bad
Left and right are my stretched palms wide
Accepting and inviting all the happy and the sad

I walk through life with my arms wide open
I choose to bathe in the sunlight, and dream with the moon
I walk with my arms wide open
And wouldn’t change it for favour, fame or for boon

-Chiseche

